CAPSAICIN

Fellow Food Bloggers, I have decided to take a stand for truth, justice, and food science!  I was watching a program on the Food Network of all places and was dismayed to find that in this, the year 2007, there is still confusion on one basic food principle.  The host of the show, who shall remain nameless, once again repeated the age old myth that the heat in chili peppers comes from the seeds.

Nay and Fie On It I say!!!  As we all know, the heat from chilis comes from membranes that secure the seeds to the chili’s walls.  Which is probably how seeds got such a bad rap in the first place.  But that is no excuse.

I am putting a stop to spice miseducation once and for all.  I am announcing CAPSAICIN: the Campaign for the Awareness of Peppers, Seeds and Intense Cooking In the Net.  There is no time for delay.  Go to the CAPSAICIN page and copy the code so that you add your very own CAPSAICIN badge to your website or blog.  Tell your friends so that they can be part of this important movement.

Now is the time for action.  Now is the time to stand up and say I will not tolerate confusion as to where the heat in spicy food comes from any more.  My fellow Bloggers, now is the time to proudly proclaim I am a member of the Campaign for the Awareness of Peppers, Seeds and Intense Cooking In the Net.

Thank you and good night.

2 Responses

  1. Yay for setting things straight. LOL

  2. This is an important topic, thank you for being on the cutting edge of education.

    BTB, do you think pollinators can influence the heat of peppers? In my greenhouse, some bell peppers from a plant will come out hot while others come out sweet, in the same way my jalapeno pants have given me a few sweet tasting peppers. I believe my busy pollinators buzzed willy-nilly and mixed pollen. What say ye?

Leave a Reply

